It’s been awhile! Finals and other real life priorities chewed up and spat out my life, but here I am and food/photo dumping.

Anyways, I’m not normally the type to make desserts that requires baking, but I had peaches leftover and I decided I would attempt a peach tart since I was craving sweets pretty much all week.

I halved most of the recipes I found online and made two small ~4 inch wide tarts. The one that came out well I gave to my roommate for Valentine’s and I ate the one that fell apart (right off the pan). It seems like the taste came out alright since she’s normally the type to say bluntly whether something tastes good or bad. It was also sort of amusing since I wasn’t totally convinced that I could do this without a tart pan, but I did, and it held together, so cheers to luck!

Tart shell recipe (modified from this Kopiaste blog):

Ingredients

0.625 cups of flour

0.25 teaspoon of salt

0.5 tablespoon of sugar

0.5 stick of vegetable spread (cut into small pieces)

0.125 cup of ice cold water

Instructions

1. Combine everything but the water. The original recipe says to use a food processor, but I just used my hands and mashed until it looked like coarse meal.

2. Pour the water in at a steady stream until the dough holds together, and gather it into two balls. The recipe says to leave it to chill in the fridge for an hour, but I skipped this step and it seems to be fine when the final product comes out.

3. Shape the dough until it seems to resemble what you’d think would be a tart shell. I found that by folding the dough up gently and pinching it/folding parts of it together holds it up pretty well.

4. Bake at 375 degrees F until it sets and take out of the oven. Lower the oven to 350 degrees F.

Tart filling recipe (modified from this Food Network Recipe):

Ingredients

6 slices of canned peaches

1 large egg

0.375 cup of canned sweetened condensed milk

~0.3 cup of sugar

0.125 cup of flour

Instructions

1. Place the peaches into the tart shells and arrange them snugly.

2. Mix all the other ingredients and beat until smooth. Pour into the tart shells until it covers the peaches (if possible. My tart shells were too small…).

3. Bake tart for about an hour until it looks like the filling has set and take it out to cool.

4. Garnish as you wish. I drizzled a bit of extra condensed milk for looks, and eat while it’s hot!

