Well, it’s a new school year and I’ve been trying to adjust to the new stove and trying to readjust to the equipment (or lack of) here.

This morning I was struck with a sudden craving for my mom’s semi-famous Burmese Noodle Salad. It’s pretty popular with my cousins, especially on my mom’s side where her generation immigrated for Burma/Myanmar.

It really brings back memories of home (now that I’m stuck back in Michigan) but it’s quite a bit of work (that I sort of skipped out on here…).

This dish is normally made with medium-thickness egg noodles, shredded cabbage, and mung bean sprouts, but I didn’t have the latter two and ended up substituting soba for the egg noodles. It doesn’t really take away from the dish as a whole if you want something simple but the added vegetables add more texture and flavor to the dish.

Also, Noodle Salad is really something you customize to fit your own tastes. I have a basic recipe (for a poor, lazy college student) but it’s really up to you about how much of the ingredients you decide you want/don’t want to add.

Recipe

Ingredients

~1 bunch of soba noodles (for those packs where they come separated)

~3-5 strands? of cilantro

0.25 clove of garlic

1.5 tablespoons of shrimp powder

~3-4 tablespoons of oil

~1.5 tablespoons of lemon juice/sweet tamarind sauce

~1.5 tablespoons of fish sauce

The ingredients should all be available at your local Asian market. My parents generally make their own shrimp powder from dried shrimp but I bought a bottle of it at the local market.

1. Cook the soba noodles according to the instructions. Make sure to drain as thoroughly as possible after putting the noodles through a cold bath.

2. Dice cilantro

3. Heat the oil in a nonstick frying pan and dice the garlic thoroughly. Deep fry the garlic until golden.

4. Mix all the ingredients together thoroughly in a bowl (including the garlic oil). Generally, I mix the savory ingredients before adding lemon juice/tamarind juice and begin adjusting the flavor from there.

5. Optional Sometimes it happens when there’s too much liquid from the oil, fish sauce, and lemon juice. Plus, if you’re in a rush, the water from the cold bath doesn’t drain away completely. But fear not! Burmese people usually add some Adzuki bean powder (which can be bought in Indian supermarkets) which absorbs the liquid. But, as a warning, make sure the powder has been roasted or it will taste terrible!

6. Enjoy!

As I mentioned before, this dish is really a chance to customize to fit your own tastes. I personally love bean sprouts and shredded cabbage in my noodles and strands of lemon zest add a burst of freshness, but alas we can’t satisfy all those cravings in our life (for now at least). So have fun!

If you decide to try the dish, do let me know what you added! I’d like to try it (if I have the resources)! :]

