A miracle?

Almost.

I got this recipe off of Lifehack because the mere idea of making bread usually terrifies me, but this recipe made it seem so ridiculously easy that only an idiot could mess it up.

Wait. Did I say only an idiot could mess it up?

That’s funny…because I messed it up. OTL

My funny story with this ciabatta was that I ought to learn how to read packaging labels. The recipe called for 0.25 tsp of dry yeast. I poured in 7 grams. In case you didn’t realize…7g>0.25 teaspoon.

I didn’t realize my mistake until I poured it all into the warm water and decided to read the package. Unfortunately, I had no way of remedying this since I was in a rush to get to work, so I just dumped everything together and followed the instructions before running out. I was a bit worried that I’d have some sort of giant white monster in my hands, but to my surprise, although the dough had grown, it wasn’t anything close to monstrous. After baking, the bread was actually fine, but had a bit of a yeasty beer flavor.

Since then, I’ve tried experimenting with the recipe a bit, making tastier adjustments to add flavor.

Recipe
Ingredients

  • 4 cups of all purpose flour (I think substituting whole wheat flour would work fine too)
  • 2 cups of warm water (not boiling! You should be able to put your hand in without scalding yourself)
  • 0.5 teaspoon of yeast
  • 1 tsp of salt

Method
1. Mix the yeast and warm water in a large bowl.
2. Add flour and salt to water/yeast mixture. Mix well.
3. Cover with a towel or plastic wrap and let it sit for about 8-12 hours.
4. Preheat oven to 400F/204C. Dust baking sheet liberally with flour.
5. Pour batter onto the baking sheet and top with favorite dried herbs. Bake for 25 minutes to 30 minutes and until the top of the bread browns.

I tried making a few modifications to the recipe, and that was adding about 2 tablespoons of oil (olive oil for those who have it?) and leaving out 2 tablespoons of water. I think that might make your bread more fragrant and it doesn’t make it more soggy.

I also found that the baking time might not be quite enough. I’m sure this varies from oven to oven though, so I might bake it for 30-35 minutes. Even if you happen to under bake the bread a little, I’ve found that after slicing it and toasting it, it’s still decent. I still have to find a way to make it less sticky though…any suggestions?

