While I was hungry and wanted something easy…

I’ll admit that this isn’t the most visually appealing, but I can almost guarantee that it’s the most taste-bud and stomach-ly appealing. I half-invented it yesterday when I was hungry but needed to work on a paper about peddlers, and on the first attempt, it fell apart in my hands and then into my stomach. Today’s attempt stayed together in my hands and fell into my stomach anyways.

It’s also great if you feel sushi/onigiri oriented but don’t actually have the skill (like me), and it’s definitely fast and easy.


Prep time

~30 minutes

Ingredients

1/2 cup of Japanese rice (calrose or something of the sort)

1 sheet of nori (seaweed that they use in sushi places)

5-6 peeled deveined shrimp

1/2 a clove of garlic

~1/2 teaspoon of salt

~1 tablespoon of oil

~1 tablespoon of mayonnaise (optional)

Recipe

1. Wash the rice and use your rice cooker to do the rest of the work for you. It should take about half an hour to cook, and by the time you finish prepping, the rice will be done.

2. Peel and dice the garlic.

3. Heat up a nonstick pan and pour the oil in. When the oil heats up toss the garlic in and saute.

4. After sauteing the garlic for a few seconds, toss in the shrimp. Cook until done. Quickly shut off the stove or the garlic may burn.

5. Take the sheet of nori and put it on a flat clean surface. (I did this without those nifty bamboo mats, but if you have one, I guess it’d be easier).

6. The rice should be done cooking by now. Add the salt and mix throughly.

7. Take the rice and spread it evenly across the sheet of nori, perhaps leaving a centimeter from the top and bottom edges.

8. Take the shrimp and lay them across horizontally in a line and add the garlic on top. If you want mayonnaise, this would be the time to draw a line across on top of the shrimp and garlic.

9. Roll.

10. Eat/Let it fall into your stomach after you let it fall into your mouth.