I love tarts and that sort of thing at any time. Even when I hated sweets as a child, I still absolutely loved the Chinese custard tarts that they had a dim sum restaurants. I’ve also tried to make other custards and tarts over the years, but none of them really ever turned out well until I tried and adjusted this South African Milk Tart recipe from Food and Family. It can be eaten hot or cold, but I prefer it hot since it feels like it’s just melting in your mouth. I also liked it especially since it used the entire egg and not just the egg yolk (since I don’t have a strainer).  More photos and recipe behind the jump~!

Recipe

This recipe is modified from Food and Family, and is enough to make one person’s serving.

Ingredients

~0.25 cup of flour (I used all purpose since that was all I had)

1 cup of milk

1 egg

0.4 cup of sugar

0.4 oz of butter

small pinch of salt

0.25 tsp of cinnamon

Instructions

1. Preheat the oven to 350F.

2. Mix all the ingredients, except the cinnamon, together until smooth. I found that it was easier to do this by melting the butter, sifting the flour, and adding everything else and mixing (with chopsticks -laugh-).

3. After everything’s mixed and the batter is smooth, put it into the oven and bake for 45 minutes.

4. Take it out and let it cool for a few minutes before eating.

Of course, if you can resist the aroma, you can try to eat it cold too. I tried to speed up the cooling down process and waited before the cup was warm before shoving it up into the freezer for about half an hour to an hour. And then, I found out I liked it warm.

Easy and delicious~! いただきます~!