It feels like it’s been ages since I made a post! Life has been busy and I was up slaving away on papers about pro wrestlers and Olympic advertisements.

But let’s return to the favorite subject of the every day, shall we? Food!

I was craving something like sushi again, but cheaper and perhaps a bit more within my budget that I could make in my historic landmark/very old and seemingly lacking kitchen.

My solution? Chirashizushi.

This is really the easiest of the easy even though I was missing a key ingredient. It’s fun since you can put pretty much anything you want with what you have, and it feels (falsely) advanced since the end product looks so nice. I’m also a person who likes to cut, and this dish really offers a lot of opportunities to use my trusty meat cleaver. Thus, if you like eating (or why else would you be here?), Japanese food, rice, and/or cutting, this is probably a perfect dish for you.

Recipe (enough for two meals)

Ingredients

1 cup of cooked rice

1 tablespoon of sugar

1 teaspoon of salt

1 egg

1 slice of sandwich ham

0.5 sheet of nori

0.5 of a cucumber

salmon

10 shrimp

1 green onion

Mayonnaise

Instructions

1. Cook the rice.

2. While the rice cooks, slice up the ham, and cucumbers.

3. Cook the egg as a sheet (break, scramble in a bowl, and cook in the pan). Lift it out of the pan and slice it into strips.

4. Boil a bit of water and de-shell the shrimp. Boil the shrimp until cooked.

5. Cut the nori into strips and mash the salmon.

6. By now, the rice has probably finished cooking. Open it up and pour in the sugar and salt and mix. Cover when done to let the flavor in for about five minutes, leaving the rice cooker on “keep warm”. (I didn’t have any vinegar, but if you have regular vinegar or rice vinegar, about a teaspoon might work here too?)

7. Scoop half of the rice into a bowl patting it loosely into the bowl. Top with half of all the ingredients and add a dollop of mayonnaise on top of the salmon. If I had sesame seeds here, I would’ve sprinkled some on top, but since I didn’t, I just sprinkled pepper instead.

8. Eat!