It doesn’t make much sense to me when people are told not play with food. I mean, if what we food bloggers are doing isn’t considered “playing with food”, then what exactly are we doing? I mean, I’m turning 20 this year, and I still make noises (when no one’s looking or listening) when I’m trying to swallow a spoonful of mystery glop.

The point is not that I’m extremely childish (although that may be the case), or that I’m actually a nutcase that can only be fed liquids (which is not so much, but also possibly, the case). The point is, playing with food actually makes the food more enjoyable, regardless of age. Kids love eating those mashed peas and beef when it comes zooming at them and “crash lands” in their teethless mouths. Adults would probably love a chocolate-sculpted airplane that could fly into their mouths and save them the effort of reaching into the chocolate jar.

Which, sort of, leads me to these sweet potato boats I made one day.

It’s amazing how few savory yam recipes exist out there. Thus, this is mostly my invention. It’s amazingly simple and is good enough when you need something simple and fairly healthy.

Recipe

Ingredients

– 1 yam/sweet potato

– ~4 tablespoons of salmon/chicken breast

– ground black pepper

– 2 pinches of salt

– 2 tablespoons of mayo (optional)

– 0.24 chopped green onion (for garnish)

Instructions

1. Preheat your oven to 400F and thoroughly scrub the yam until clean. When the oven finishes preheating, place yam in and bake for 45-75 minutes (depending on the size of the yam).

2. Mix chicken or salmon with mayo and add salt and pepper. Mix thoroughly.

3. When the yam finishes baking, cut in half and scoop out the centers. Mix with chicken or salmon. Place chicken/salmon salad back into the centers and garnish with green onions.