When I say an accident, I mean it.

I had a salad the other day, and I felt like making something other than the dressing I used in the Apple and Breaded Chicken Salad, so I thought I’d come up with the “brilliant” idea of making a miso-based dressing. Honestly, it wasn’t too bad…I guess. Separately, the dressing and the salad probably would have tasted better. So it might not be unsurprising that I had a lot of this murky dark dressing leftover.

As I was doing the dishes, I was trying to figure out what to do with all this leftover dressing. I didn’t have enough vegetables leftover for a salad, and I just couldn’t figure out what the taste and texture reminded me of.  And then it hit me! I had jajang myun for the first time a few weeks ago, and I figured by adjusting the flavor a little would give me the same type of taste (if not the color). I then added glops of peanut butter to thicken the mixture and poured it all on top of a bed of rice noodles before topping it with some cooked slices of pork shoulder butt, shallots, and nori.

It. Was. Delicious.

I then made some for a roommate, who’s Korean, telling her that I had accidentally made some jajang myun, and she might like it. When she came back, I whipped some up and topped hers with garlic shrimp instead of pork. She seemed to like it but told me it reminded her of Pad Thai because of the peanut-buttery flavor, so I came up with the name “Jajang myun x Pad Thai Hybrid”. I know. Originality isn’t my forte.

Recipe

Ingredients (everything is approximate because, as I said, everything was accidental)

~1.5 heaping tablespoons of akamiso (red miso)

~2 tablespoons of ketchup

~1 tablespoon of honey

~3.5 tablespoons of peanut butter

1 clove of garlic (diced)

enough rice noodles for two people

-five cooked shrimp or 2 slices of pork shoulder butt

-quarter sheet of nori

-sliced green onions

-vinegar

Instructions

1. Heat a non-stick frying pan and add some oil to grease the pan. When the oil heats, add the garlic and fry until golden. Lower the temperature to low heat before adding the miso. Cook until warm and add ketchup. Mix throughly.

2. Shut off then transfer to a bowl before adding hot water, honey, and peanut butter. Add a splash of vinegar. Stir until smooth.

3. Pour onto noodles and top with cooked shrimp or cooked pork. Cut the nori into thin strips and add with green onions to top.

4. Eat!!

For people who like it sweeter, add more honey. For people who like it more savory, add less honey. If you don’t have honey, sugar is always an option! When it comes to food, it’s really “to each their own.”

And, now, I actually have to find out how to make real jajang myun…