My apologies for the long long absence! Once again, school was frying up my life as I scrambled to get everything under control and find some time to sleep as well. It also didn’t help that my computer was broken for about a week over New Year’s (when I actually had time to post…) But everything’s slowed down (just a teeny bit) and fixed so I can post about my experiment today!

There is a small chain of restaurants here on my campus called “No Thai!” I normally go there when I’m craving some nice “Asian” noodles. Asian in the sense that it’s Asian American, kind of like how “chow mein” is Asian (aka, not really Asian).

About two weeks ago, I went to No Thai and ordered Pad Thai since I had gotten the “Drunken Noodles” last time. I wasn’t particularly impressed, but then again, what could I expect from a chain semi-fast food store?

So, today, I thought I’d give my own (inauthentic, probably) version of Pad Thai a try. I was craving for something that reminded me that sunny snow-less places still exist somewhere out there.

I used this recipe from Thai Table and modified it for myself.

Recipe

Ingredients

1 bunch of flat rice noodles (enough for one person)
1.5 teaspoon of fish sauce (you can substitute about this for about 1 teaspoon of soy sauce or salt)
White vinegar
3 cloves of garlic, minced
0.5 teaspoon of chili sauce(the recipe calls for ground chili pepper, but I used an Asian pepper sauce since I don’t have ground chili peppers)
1 egg
1/8 of an onion sliced
1/8 teaspoon of sugar
1 heaping tablespoon of peanut butter
Shrimp, deveined and peeled
2 green onions (cut into 1 inch pieces)
Half a lime

Instructions

1. Cook the noodles until they soften. Since you’re going to be frying the noodles, it’s better for it to be a little undercooked than overcooked.

2. Oil and heat (on high) a non-stick frying pan. When the oil slides across the pan smoothly, toss in your minced garlic. Fry until nearly golden and the drained noodles and stir fry quickly to prevent the noodles from sticking. Add fish sauce (or whatever substitute you’re using), a splash of white vinegar, and chili sauce.

3. Continue to cook the noodles, but push them to one side of the pan before cracking the egg. Scramble cook the egg thoroughly before mixing with the noodles. Cook thoroughly before placing the noodles in a dish.

4. Turn the heat to medium and add the peanut butter to the same pan. Mix with sugar until the mixture softens and resembles a thick sauce before pouring over the noodles. Squeeze lime juice over noodles.

5. Turn the heat to high and oil the pan again. When the oil finishes heating, add the green onions and regular onion. Cook until fragrant (stir fry for 3-5 seconds). Add the shrimp and cook together with onions. Top the noodles.


I rather enjoyed this dish, although I think I would’ve preferred it much more with roasted peanuts and bean sprouts.  Alas the lacking refrigerator of college students! But then again, the adventure of cooking lies in the fact that it’s all one (hopefully) tasty chemistry experiment.